Dress as You Wish!

Tina is a Youth Fellow 2016-17
YRC Drishtikon
I'm Tina Paul and I'm 19 years old. I live with my mother, who works as a cook, and my sister who is studying in class XII.

I give tuitions and meet all my expenses, as well as the expenses of my mother and sister.

My father does not stay with us, so my maternal uncle provides us some support. We also earn some money by letting out our rooms on rent.

Sometimes we have fights at home because of differences of opinion, but thankfully there is no pressure on me to get married. I want to complete my graduation and become financially strong.

I go to college, work at my YRC Drishtikon, and come to Thoughtshop Foundation for training. I am trained as a Gender Volunteer for my group, and I'm now a part of the Youth Fellowship programme.

For me the sessions on communication skills, feedback from others, and honest communication have been very useful.

Since I was a child I liked to play games that are usually played by boys. My mother used to discourage me saying it was not okay for girls to play boys' games. At that time I did not understand the social reasons for it. Now I strongly believe that one does not have to be a man to play certain games or do certain things. Now I demand my rights. If there is any problem, I protest.

I want to stay with my YRC and support it, help it to be very strong in all areas. My group believes in equality and there is an acceptance of all kinds of people.

In our community some people support our Gender Volunteer activities, and actions are taken against early child marriage; but if girls wear jeans or hot pants, they are severely judged! I dream of a day when everyone in my community can dress the way she or he wants to, without being judged by anyone.